20 Oct

I woke up early on my bornday/ I’m 20, it’s a blessing/ The essence of adolescence leaves my body…

  • Nas, “Life’s A Bitch”

So today is my birthday and marks the start of the journey to my 33rd year. I meant for this to be a long post, with me waxing poetic about my expected life goals for the next year, the tweaks and changes I need to make in this seemingly never ending pursuit of being the best version of me.

However, I spent the day doing something I haven’t done in a long time and that’s absolutely nothing. I declined all offers of dining to lay in my bed all day, netflixing and fielding birthday calls/texts. In between binge watching Numb3rs and the calls/texts, I spent some time contemplating my life and it’s meandering direction. I realized that I don’t have all the answers yet and for once, that was okay.

Time after time, I’ve spent hours making a full plan and immediately dropping it when I reached the logical outcome of decisions. Today, I realized that I have to take it one day at a time. And, that’s what I plan to do. In this little blog, serving as my journal. It will be an ongoing experiment for in the domain of public accountability, to see if my private actions live up to my public words. Even if it’s only me who knows these words are out there.

Leave a Reply

